Menu

Health

Most Europeans die of cardio-vascular diseases. Amongst the biggest risk factors for developing a cardio-vascular disease are stress, an unhealthy diet, smoking and lack of movement. All those are risk factors that can be significantly reduced by behavioral changes. We therefore believe that it is important for governments and corporations to shape situations, which facilitate healthy behavior. Results from European neighbors demonstrate the success of such approaches in promoting a healthy life-style:

Movement: Simply by painting red stripes onto the floor leading to the staircase, the Dutch humanistic institute for cooperation increased the number of people who took the stairs rather than the lift by 75%.

Environment

Most people agree that protecting the environment is important. Nevertheless, we do not always act accordingly. Often, we do not pay attention and have too little awareness for the consequences of our behavior. With small changes in the context, environmentally responsible behavior can be promoted.

Littering: The „Danish Nudging Network“ was able to reduce littering on the streets of downtown Copenhagen by 46% by painting green footprints on the floor, leading to waste bins.

Saving resources: By using slightly smaller plates, the Norwegian organization „GreeNudge“ managed to reduce the amount of food waste by 19.5%. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9MImOh4hWUM

Society

For society to flourish people need to follow certain rules, communicate with each other, and also exercise their rights. Based on research from social psychology on group behavior, situations can be shaped to promote social and sustainable behavior in a society.

Foreign aid: The rate of vaccinations in Udaipur India could be multiplied using simple measures. Giving vaccination-events a social component vaccination rates were raised from 6% to 18%. Giving out a kilogram of lentils increased the rate to 39%.

Taxes: Outstanding taxes were paid 15% faster when people were sent letters involving social norms („9 out of 10 citizens of Great Britain paid their taxes on time“).

Donations: In cooperation with „Deutsche Bank“, the „Behavioral Insights Team“ managed to collect 600’000€ in a day by sending personalized emails from the CEO combined with small and inexpensive gifts. BIT_Charitable_Giving_Paper.pdf

Unemployment: Unemployed citizens from Essex (Great Britain) were asked to write down their plans for re-entering the job-market in a very concrete way (When? How? Where?). With this small and inexpensive intervention people were 15-20% more likely to not be dependent on unemployment benefits 13 weeks later.

Menu

Gesundheit

Die meisten Europäer sterben an Erkrankungen des Herz-Kreislaufsystems. Zu den wichtigsten Risikofaktoren dafür gehören u.a. Stress, ungesunde Ernährung, Rauchen und Bewegungsmangel. Risikofaktoren, welche einzig durch eine Änderung im Verhalten reduzierbar sind. Wir glauben, dass es deshalb wichtig ist, dass Behörden und Unternehmen Kontexte kreieren, welche es Menschen erleichtern, sich gesund zu verhalten. Ergebnisse aus europäischen Nachbarländern zeigen den Erfolg dieses Ansatzes für die Gesundheitsförderung auf:

Bewegung: Indem rote Streifen auf dem Boden aufgemalt wurden, welche zum Treppenaufgang führten, konnte das Niederländische Humanistische Institut für Kooperation bewirken, dass 75% mehr Leute die Treppen, und nicht den anliegenden Aufzug nahmen.

Umwelt

Die meisten Leute sind sich einig, dass der Schutz der Umwelt wichtig ist. Nichtsdestotrotz verhalten wir uns nicht immer dementsprechend. Oft, weil wir bei vielen Dingen unachtsam sind und uns die Konsequenzen unseres Handelns nicht vergegenwärtigen. Durch kleine Änderungen des Kontextes kann umweltbewusstes Verhalten gefördert werden.

Littering: Dem „Danish Nudging Network“ gelang es, die Straßenverschmutzung in Kopenhagen um 46% zu reduzieren, indem in der Innenstadt grüne Fußabdrücke auf den Boden gemalt wurden, welche zu Abfalleimern führten.

 

Ressourcensparen: Durch eine Verkleinerung der Tellergröße gelang es der Norwegischen Organisation “GreeNudge” Essensabfälle in Hotels um 19.5% zu verringern. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9MImOh4hWUM

Gesellschaft / Soziales

Ein gutes gesellschaftliches Zusammenleben setzt voraus, dass Menschen sich an gewisse Regeln halten, miteinander reden und ihre Rechte ausüben können. Die Sozialpsychologie setzt sich unter anderem mit Gruppenprozessen auseinander. Auf dieser Forschung aufbauend können Situationen so gestaltet werden, dass sie soziales, nachhaltiges Verhalten fördern.

Entwicklungszusammenarbeit: Mit einfachsten Mitteln konnte die Rate der vollen Immunisierung von Kindern in Udaipur, Indien, vervielfacht werden. Den Impfanlässen eine soziale Komponente zu geben erhöhte die Rate von 6% (in Kontroll-Dörfern) auf 18%. Zusätzlich ein Kilogramm Linsen als Belohnung anzubieten erhöhte die Rate weiter auf 39%.

Steuern:  Überfällige Steuern wurden 15% schneller bezahlt, wenn Leuten ein Brief, der soziale Normen involvierte, zugesendet wurde („9 von 10 Bürger in Großbritannien haben ihre Steuern pünktlich bezahlt“).

Spenden: In Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutschen Bank konnte das Behavioural Insights Team an einem Tag ca. 600.000€ Spenden sammeln, indem personalisierte Emails des CEOs mit kleinen, billigen Geschenken kombiniert wurden. BIT_Charitable_Giving_Paper.pdf

Arbeitslosigkeit: Arbeitslose Bürger in Essex (Großbritannien) wurden gebeten ihre Pläne für Ihren Wiedereinstieg in den Arbeitsmarkt konkret zu beschreiben (Wann? Wie? Wo?). Diese kleine und kostengünstige Intervention steigerte die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass die Befragten nach 13 Wochen nicht mehr auf Arbeitslosenhilfe angewiesen waren, um 15-20%.